Safety awards open for submissions

Safety awards open for submissions

After an impressive inaugural event, the Hunter Safety Awards has opened up nominations for the 2017 awards.

The 11 categories cover Work Health and Safety (WHS) leadership, management, improvement, training and innovative ideas, with submissions sought for 10 of the categories.

Awards founder, Sarah-Jane Dunford, said she was thrilled with the outcome of the inaugural event and excited to be launching the 2017 awards.

“There are so many Hunter businesses that are embracing WHS as a core element of their workplace strategy and operations, but they are often quiet achievers,” Sarah-Jane said. “It’s essential that these organisations are recognised, not just to raise their own profile, but also the profile of businesses in the Hunter region.”

“Following on from our first event, it is a testament to its success, as well as the importance of WHS that so many businesses have continued their support of the Awards,” Sarah-Jane continued. “In particular Blackwoods has renewed their Major Sponsorship of the Hunter Safety Awards.”

Blackwoods Area Sales Manager, David Biddles, said the partnership with Hunter Safety Awards was a key element of their commitment to the Hunter community.

“We’re proud to say that Blackwoods is the largest Australian distributor of industrial, engineering and safety workplace needs, but it is also vital to us to keep a close connection to the communities we work within,” David said.

“The Hunter Safety Awards supports and recognises organisations that are going above and beyond in ensuring that WHS is a core element of their business.”

Hunter-based organisations are urged to enter the awards and receive recognition for the innovative and important role that WHS plays in their business.

Categories for the Hunter Safety Awards 2017 are as follows:

  • WHS Business of the Year (not open for submissions, awarded by judges) – sponsored by Blackwoods
  • WHS Champion of the Year – sponsored by University of Newcastle 
  • Young WHS Leader of the Year – sponsored by Lifestyle Cleaning Services
  • Most Innovative WHS Idea (Large organisation) – sponsored by WesTrac
  • Most Innovative WHS Idea (SME) – sponsored by 3M
  • Best WHS Management System (Large organisation) – sponsored by Greencap
  • Best WHS Management System (SME)  – sponsored by Laing O’Rourke
  • Best WHS Improvement (Large organisation)
  • Best WHS Improvement (SME) – sponsored by KONE Elevators
  • WHS Student of the Year – sponsored by Hunter TAFE
  • Best WHS Training Course

To download a submission pack, please click here.

Image | WHS Business of the Year representatives, Port Hunter Conveyors.

Hunter Safety Awards

The Hunter region is well-known for leading the way in industry, this in turn has led to the region becoming champions of WHS.

The Hunter Safety Award were born out of desire to recognise companies and individuals within the Hunter region who are demonstrating best-practice and innovative approaches when it comes to workplace health and safety (WHS).

Trending Articles

Advertise with us

Affordable and engaging advertising to a business community

Submit an article

Tell your story to the Hunter business community

Does your business need a little help with its marketing?

Marketing strategies

This website uses cookies
We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services.