Hunter Safety Awards 2023 makes way for a new wave of safety innovation

Hunter Safety Awards 2023 makes way for a new wave of safety innovation

Following a successful in-person award ceremony held on Thursday 12 May 2022, the Hunter Safety Awards applications are once again open for 2023.

The annual event will once again focus on celebrating the businesses and individuals within the region who are demonstrating best-practice and innovative approaches when it comes to all facets of WHS.

In 2023, the Hunter Safety Awards will be welcoming back several sponsors from last year, including AGL as the major sponsor for the sixth year running.

General Manager Liddell and Bayswater, Len McLachlan said AGL is proud to back the best in safety in the Hunter region again for 2023.

“Safety of our people, community and customers is one of AGL’s core values,” Len said.

“It’s important to showcase and recognise the innovative ways businesses and individuals are committing to safety.

“The Hunter Safety Awards are an excellent opportunity for our region to celebrate those who are paving the way for a better future of work, health and safety in the Hunter.”

Submissions are open to eligible local businesses and individuals who have integrated work, health, and safety as part of their core business.

Every business who is a finalist is automatically entered into the WHS Business of the Year award, which is awarded by judges to a business who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to safety both through their award application and day-to-day operations.

2022 WHS Business of the Year winner, Fenech Demolition were stunned with their award wins. Manager of Fenech Demolition, Julian Fenech said safety was and always will be a non-negotiable to their team.

“We’ve taken safety to another level, not just on the job site, but in our workplace where it all begins,” Julian said.

“At the end of the day everybody wants to go home to their families, and as a family-owned business that’s what we’re all about.

“If you’ve got a great idea that has improved safety in your business, or an innovative program we encourage you to enter the Hunter Safety Awards like us.

“As a small business we didn’t expect to take home the big award and couldn’t have been more grateful for the recognition it has offered our business in the WHS space,” Julian said.

The founder of the Hunter Safety Awards, Sarah-Jane Dunford said she’s looking forward to reviewing a new wave of submissions for 2023.

“Following two and a half years of challenges, this year has offered additional time for businesses to implement some new processes and programs for health and safety,” Sarah-Jane said.

“We’re hoping to see even more submissions in 2023 than previous years, with innovative ideas we can all implement in our own work environment.”

Award criteria and submission guidelines for Hunter businesses can be downloaded via the Hunter Safety Awards website. The 13 award categories will be as listed below;

  • WHS Business of the Year (not open for submissions, awarded by judges) – sponsored by AGL
  • WHS Champion of the Year – sponsored by Fenech Demolition
  • Young WHS Leader of the Year – sponsored by uvex
  • Most Innovative WHS Idea (Large organisation) – sponsored by WesTrac
  • Most Innovative WHS Idea (SME) – sponsored by 3M
  • Best WHS Management System (Large organisation) – sponsored by Red Insight
  • Best WHS Management System (SME) – sponsored by Ampcontrol
  • Best WHS Improvement (Large organisation) – Strike Force Services
  • Best WHS Improvement (SME) – ARTC
  • Best Health & Wellbeing Program (Large Organisation)
  • Best Health & Wellbeing Program (SME) – sponsored by Tomago Aluminium
  • WHS Student of the Year – Sponsored by The University of Newcastle
  • Best WHS Training Course – Sponsored by BY Group

The 2023 Hunter Safety Award ceremony is set to be held Friday, 17 March 2022 at the Newcastle Exhibition Centre (NEX).

Submissions are now open for the 2023 awards. Applications for all submissions will close at 5:00 pm on Monday 14 November 2022.


IMAGE | 2022 WHS Business of the Year Award winners, Fenech Demolition

Hunter Safety Awards

The Hunter region is well-known for leading the way in industry, this in turn has led to the region becoming champions of WHS.

The Hunter Safety Award were born out of desire to recognise companies and individuals within the Hunter region who are demonstrating best-practice and innovative approaches when it comes to workplace health and safety (WHS).

Trending Articles

Advertise with us

Affordable and engaging advertising to a business community

Submit an article

Tell your story to the Hunter business community

Does your business need a little help with its marketing?

Marketing strategies

This website uses cookies
We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services.