HunterNet Chairman’s Awards | HunterNet Member in Focus

HunterNet Chairman’s Awards | HunterNet Member in Focus

A full house was in attendance at the annual HunterNet Chairman’s Awards at the Newcastle Jockey Club on Thursday 29 November.

As the preeminent industry cluster in Australia, Chairman of HunterNet, Steve Tolley said the HunterNet Chairman’s Awards have gained recognition across borders and the geographic plains.

“These awards carry prestige, kudos and most of all acknowledgment and recognition of the achievements both from a team and individual winner’s perspective. They provide a sense of accomplishment for all the hard work they have put in throughout the year,” Steve said.

The awards recognise the individual achievements of HunterNet’s apprentices, trainees and technical people employed through their Group Training Company.

“Without being clichéd, all of our employees are winners and without them, we don’t exist. As in life, we have people that just reach a little higher and these awards recognise those achievements,” General Manager of HunterNet, Nick Couper said.

“HunterNet is proud of its role in the industrial landscape of the Hunter and Central Coast regions and takes the view that with a collaborative approach we can achieve great results for our regions.”

The moniker used by HunterNet has stood the test of time and is as relevant today as what it was back in 1993 – the power of many is synonymous of their member’s attitude and they wish all the utmost success.

Chief Executive Officer of HunterNet, Tony Cade said 2018 has been another exceptional year for HunterNet companies.

“The benefits of their investment in diversification and innovation are being realised through success in both national and global supply chains. These awards were the most highly contested in HunterNet’s history and I pay tribute to all award recipients,” Tony said.

The winners were:

  • Networking Award – Chris Dickson (Toxfree);
  • Export Award – McLanahan’s;
  • Innovation Award – Cross Connections Consulting;
  • Safety and Training Award – Ampcontrol;
  • Harvey Knox Award – Rod Murphy (R&R Murphy);
  • Outstanding Achiever: Trainee – Tayla Wiebe;
  • Trainee of the Year – Nicky Majurovski;
  • Excellence in Safety Award – Luke Olsen (Roadhound Electronics);
  • Oustanding Achiever: 1st or 2nd Year Apprentice – Liam Kendrick;
  • Outstanding Achiever: 3rd Year Apprentice – Lennox McKessor and Ryan Bowden;
  • Ivan Randon Award – Joshua Costolo; and
  • Host Company of the Year – Swanson Industries.

At the awards evening, Chairman of the HunterNet Group Training Company, Ivan Waterfield said the region is lucky to have the high achievers it has.

“The region is blessed to have the calibre of young people we see here tonight and to all the businesses that put their faith into these young people, we congratulate you,” Ivan said.

IMAGE | Winners of the HunterNet Co-operative award with Chairman, Steve Tolley at the HunterNet Chairman Awards.


HunterNet help businesses grow, innovate and thrive – and believe this begins with collaboration. By sharing ideas, developing capabilities, delivering support, and stimulating opportunities, HunterNet spark industry synergy, build strong work communities, unlock business acumen and create brighter futures for all.   

Trending Articles

Advertise with us

Affordable and engaging advertising to a business community

Submit an article

Tell your story to the Hunter business community

Does your business need a little help with its marketing?

Marketing strategies

This website uses cookies
We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services.